If you suffered injuries in a car accident another driver caused, you have the right to pursue compensation for your medical bills, lost wages, and other damages. Often times, the police report is the best source of information to help you build a strong car accident claim.
At D. Miller & Associates, PLLC, we can help you get a police report for a car accident in Houston. Call us today at 713-850-8600 for help with your case.
Why Do I Need the Police Report After a Car Crash?
In order to recover compensation, you need to prove the other driver—or another third party—caused your car accident. This can often be hard to do, since the other party may not want to admit fault in the accident.
Police reports often contain essential information about an accident, including the date and location of the crash, contact information of the drivers involved, statements from witnesses, and the officer’s understanding of what happened. If the other driver received a citation for violating a traffic law, that may also appear in the report.
That information can offer compelling proof that the other driver caused the wreck and is liable for your damages.
How Do I Get a Copy of the Police Report in Houston?
If the Houston Police Department (HPD) responded to your crash, you can obtain a copy of your report online, in person, or by mail. It may take seven to 10 days before your report is available.
You must know at least two of these details to get a copy of the report:
- The date of the accident;
- Where the accident happened; or
- The names of drivers or other people involved.
You can purchase a copy of your report online for a $7.50 fee. It is important to note, the HPD only offers redacted reports online. These reports are missing key information, including the names and contact information of the drivers involved in the crash. For the full police report, you will need to request a copy in person.
For a full report, you must go in person to HPD Records Division at 1200 Travis St., Houston, TX 77002. You must visit between the hours of 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. The in-person fee for a police report is $6.
You may also request a copy of your report by mail. The HPD will need a check or money order for the $6 fee, as well as a self-addressed, stamped envelope with your request.
How Can I Speak to a Lawyer About My Claim?
Our Houston, Texas personal injury lawyers at D. Miller & Associates, PLLC, can help you obtain the police report—as well as other evidence—to support your claim. Contact us today at 713-850-8600 to set up a free claim evaluation with an attorney.
Related Frequently Asked Questions
- How Much Should You Expect in A Commercial Uber Accident Settlement In Texas?
- Can I Sue If I Was A Passenger In A Car Accident In Texas?
- What Should You Do If You’re Involved in A Motorcycle Accident in Texas?
- What Are Some Questions to Ask a Houston Personal Injury Lawyer?
- What Types of Injury Cases Fall Under Premises Liability Law In Texas?