If you get into a car accident with no insurance in Texas, the police officer might issue you a ticket and have your car towed. They could even impound your car, causing you to pay a fee and show proof of insurance to get your car back.
If you didn’t cause the accident or were only partially responsible, you still might have the option to seek a financial recovery for your damages. A personal injury attorney at our firm can review your case and help you determine your legal options.
Are There Criminal Penalties for Driving Without Insurance?
Most people in an accident and have no insurance will most likely receive a ticket from the police and have to pay a fine. The state could also suspend your license if you are a repeat offender.
You may also face other charges associated with the accident, if you were at fault or contributed to the incident, no matter if you have insurance or not. In most cases, these offenses should only be minor traffic violations.
For example, you might get a ticket and have to pay a fine for failure to yield, if you turned left in front of oncoming traffic. You might get a similar ticket if you ran a red light or were speeding.
Other Consequences of Driving with No Insurance
Under Texas law, the state authorizes additional administrative fees for people who commit certain offenses, including driving without insurance.
In addition, you can most likely expect your insurance rates to increase when you apply for coverage. Even a first offense will cause the price of auto liability coverage to go up in many cases.
What Is the Required Minimum Liability Coverage in Texas?
The Texas Department of Insurance states that a financial responsibility law requires all drivers to carry a minimum amount of auto liability insurance. It covers medical bills and vehicle repairs that the other party sustains in an accident. Such limits are:
- $30,000 for each person’s injuries
- $60,000 for each accident
- $25,000 for vehicle damage
Many companies offer low-cost policies to help motorists get and maintain this amount of liability coverage. Financially, it makes more sense to pay for insurance than deal with the cost of a ticket and the additional fees related to driving without insurance.
What Are the Risks of Driving Without Insurance in Texas?
Texas has a fault-based auto insurance system, meaning the victim of an accident can hold the person who caused it liable for losses. After an accident, the injured parties can generally file a claim against the at-fault driver’s liability insurance policy. The insurance company would then pay out to cover the claimant’s damages.
If you do not have auto insurance to cover accident victims, you may face a personal injury lawsuit. Accident victims have the right to hold you responsible for their financial losses. If they choose, they can take you to court.
Not carrying auto insurance can also pose a problem if the other driver caused the accident. A lack of insurance does not make you liable for the wreck. However, you can expect the insurance company and the at-fault driver to say you acted negligently, and without regard to your legal responsibilities. This accusation could reduce your payout in some situations.
How a Car Accident Lawyer with Our Firm Can Help You If You didn’t Have Insurance
The aftermath of getting into a car accident without having insurance can be very stressful. As mentioned, the other party’s insurer might try to blame you for the collision even if you didn’t cause it. It’s difficult to go up against them by yourself. One of our lawyers can step in and fight for you, though.
Our accident attorneys can:
- Gather different forms of evidence: The police report, photos of the vehicles, your injuries, photos of the accident scene, traffic camera footage, and eyewitness accounts might indicate that the other party caused the accident.
- Prove your right to financial recovery: Through your medical bills and records, work-related documents, and testimony, we can show that you incurred damages because of the other driver’s negligence.
- Communicate with the other party’s insurance provider: Because you didn’t have insurance at the time of the accident, the other party’s insurer might trick you into admitting fault or altering your recorded statement to fit their narrative. Whenever they contact you, give them your lawyer’s information. Our team will take everything from that point.
- Fight for an appropriate settlement: According to Texas law, if you are found to be less than 50 percent responsible for the accident, you can collect damages. Because you didn’t have insurance, the other party’s insurer might not offer you a sufficient settlement. You can rely on your lawyer to negotiate for a fair amount, however.
We are happy to answer any questions you may have throughout the legal proceedings about your car accident case.
D. Miller & Associates, PLLC™ is Ready to Represent You After a Car Accident
If you have questions about getting the financial recovery you deserve after a Texas car accident, the team from D. Miller & Associates, PLLC™, can help. Since 2002, we have offered support and guidance to our clients. Now, we want to help you and explain the strength of your case against the at-fault driver.
Call us today to get started on your case evaluation. You could sue for distracted driving or another similar accident cause.
Related Frequently Asked Questions
- Who Can Be Liable for a Truck Accident in Texas?
- Can You File a Wrongful Death Lawsuit if Someone Dies in a Fatal Motorcycle Accident in Texas?
- How Much Is Your Dog Bite Injury Case Worth In Texas?
- What Is The OSU Collegiate Sexual Assault Settlement?
- How Can D. Miller & Associates, PLLC Help Me With My UCLA Sexual Abuse Lawsuit?