When you order an Uber or Lyft to pick you up in Texas, you are putting your life in the hands of a stranger. Controversy has plagued rideshare programs due to the lack of screening required for drivers. If your Uber or Lyft driver gets in an accident in Texas, it can be challenging to determine who is responsible for your medical bills and damages to your personal property. An Uber and Lyft accident lawyer can help.
At D. Miller & Associates, PLLC, we can help you understand who is liable for your damages in this type of car accident case. We can deal with the rideshare company and its insurer and pursue the compensation you deserve. Call us at 713-850-8600 today for a free consultation with an attorney.
Who Is Liable for My Rideshare Accident?
If you get in an accident in an Uber or Lyft, and your rideshare driver caused the crash, the rideshare company is likely responsible for your damages. While a driver is online with Uber or Lyft, the company’s third-party liability coverage takes over. That means the corporate liability policy is responsible for covering your medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and non-injury damages.
What Is Uber’s Insurance Policy?
Under Uber’s insurance policy, if a driver is online with the service but has not yet matched with a passenger, they are covered under the company’s liability policy. Uber covers “waiting” drivers up to:
- $50,000 per person;
- $100,000 bodily injury coverage per accident; and
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident.
The company’s insurance coverage changes, however, when the driver matches with a passenger. If an Uber driver gets into a crash while they are on the way to pick up a passenger or if one is already in the car, the insurance policy provides at least $1 million worth of coverage per accident.
This might sound like a lot, but if multiple people suffer injuries and other vehicles sustain a lot of damage, you will have to fight to get your claim covered. Our car accident lawyers can help you fight for money for your property damage and compensation to pay your medical bills.
What Is Lyft’s Insurance Policy?
is a little more complicated. If a Lyft driver is online, but they have yet to accept a ride, they must first use their own insurance coverage. If the driver’s insurance policy will not cover the related damages, Lyft picks up the liability coverage.
When a Lyft driver has accepted a ride request, or they have a passenger in the vehicle, Lyft will cover up to $1 million worth of damages if they cause a crash. Again, this might not pay for everything if multiple people experienced injuries in a single crash.
What Happens If the Driver Was Offline at the Time of the Wreck?
If you were inside an Uber or Lyft vehicle for a ride, the driver should be online with the service, so the company policy should apply. If they were not online with the service and represented to you that they were, the company is not likely to cover any of your damages. In this case, it is imperative that you speak with an attorney as soon as possible.
If an Uber or Lyft driver hits your car while they were driving it for personal use, they are responsible for the damages. In this case, we would file an insurance claim or a personal injury lawsuit to fight for your damages, just as we would in another typical car crash case.
How Does Texas Law Come Into Play?
mandates Uber, Lyft, and other rideshare companies to maintain certain limits of insurance coverage for drivers. These companies must offer 50/100/25 coverage when a driver is online but not giving a ride, and $1 million in coverage when they are giving a ride. While this is in line with the policies of each company, the Texas law makes it easier to collect on damages should you be injured during a ride.
How Can I Talk to a Lawyer About My Rideshare Accident?
While the coverage policies of Uber and Lyft seem comprehensive, they can often become a lot more complex when you file a claim. At D. Miller & Associates, PLLC, we can help you file your claim and fight for payment for your medical bills, property damage, and other losses after a rideshare crash. Call us at 713-850-8600 for a free consultation with an attorney.
Related Frequently Asked Questions
- How Do You Know If You Have a Good Personal Injury Case?
- What Are Slip and Fall Injury Cases Worth in Texas?
- How Long Do I Have To File A Lawsuit After A Truck Accident In Houston?
- What Happens If You Were Breaking a Texas Bicycle Law During Your Accident Injury?
- I Got Hit By A Car On My Bicycle. What Legal Action Can I Take?