There are potential downsides to having the Texas minimum for auto insurance in an accident. The first of these downsides is that the minimum for auto insurance may not be enough to cover your financial responsibilities if you cause or contribute to an accident.
Texas Minimum for Auto Insurance
According to the Texas Department of Insurance, the state’s minimum auto insurance is:
- $30,000 for Bodily Injury Liability (BI) for each injured individual
- $60,000 per accident
- $25,000 Property Damage Liability (PD) per accident
This coverage is commonly referred to as 30/60/25 coverage. This minimum coverage may not be adequate if you are in a serious auto accident. You may think you are saving money by paying a lower premium for the minimum insurance, but it could cost you more if you are in a serious auto accident. You could be held accountable for bodily injuries and property damage that exceeds your policy.
What 30/60/25 Minimum Insurance Does Not Cover
Another downside is that the Texas minimum for auto insurance is liability coverage only. This means that you could be personally responsible for other costs from an auto accident, including:
- Repairing or replacing your car
- Your own medical bills
- Funeral costs
- Accidents caused by uninsured or underinsured motorists
Minimum Insurance Does Not Protect You from Hit and Run Drivers
Texas law requires that anyone who owns a car must have auto insurance. Unfortunately, not all drivers accept this responsibility. However, you do have an option available to protect you from reckless drivers who hit the road without insurance: uninsured motorist coverage. While this coverage is optional, your auto insurer must offer you the opportunity, in writing, to accept or decline uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage.
A hit and run driver is technically considered an uninsured motorist for insurance purposes. You would pursue compensation for medical bills, car repairs, and other expenses from your uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage protects you from unexpected medical bills and other expenses.
There are two types of uninsured motorist policies:
- Bodily injury pays for medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, disfigurement, and permanent or partial disability.
- Property damage pays for car repairs, rental car, and damaged items in your car.
As car accident lawyers we encourage you to consider your auto insurance options to ensure you do not face unnecessary out-of-pocket costs after an accident.
A Car Accident Lawyer Can Advise You After an Accident
If you were injured in a car accident, a car accident lawyer from D. Miller & Associates, PLLC can tell you about potential compensation. You could qualify to recover damages for medical bills, lost pay, pain and suffering, and other expenses. For a free case evaluation, please call 713-850-8600.
Related Frequently Asked Questions
- What Will It Cost Me To Hire An Attorney In A Truck Accident Case?
- What Happens If You’re Injured by a Drunk Driver Who Has No Car Insurance in Texas?
- When Do You Need to Involve the Police After an Auto Accident in Texas?
- Who Is Legally Responsible for Your Injuries in an Accident with a Bus in Texas?
- What if You Have Trouble Paying Medical Bills After a Serious Car Accident?