In general, the immediate actions you need to take after a car accident in an Uber in Texas are similar to any other crash. You need to call the police and seek immediate medical attention for any injuries. If you need emergency treatment, you should take an ambulance. You will also need to contact your insurance company, and you may want to record any details you remember about the crash as soon as possible in case you need to remember them later.
When it comes time to file an insurance claim after an Uber accident, however, things can get tricky. Texas requires drivers to carry liability insurance to cover damages victims suffer. The state’s rideshare laws require Uber drivers and the rideshare company itself to provide this type of coverage, as well. The policy that pays for your damages will depend on several factors.
What Happens If I Suffered Injuries While Using Uber in Texas?
If you were riding in an Uber at the time of the accident, there are three possible insurance policies that could cover your medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering, and other damages. These policies may include:
- Another driver’s liability auto insurance, if a third-party motorist caused the accident;
- Uber’s $1 million liability policy that is in effect any time there is a rider in the vehicle, if your Uber driver is at fault in the crash; or
- Uber’s $1 million uninsured/underinsured motorist policy, in the event the driver who caused the crash did not carry liability insurance.
Your Uber driver should report the accident to Uber, but you should report it as well. This is the first step to filing an insurance claim. You can do this through the app or online. If you have questions or concerns about how your case may proceed, the attorneys at D. Miller & Associates, PLLC, can help. Do not hesitate to call us at 713-850-8600 with your concerns about getting the compensation you deserve after an Uber accident.
What Do I Need to Know as an Uber Driver in Texas?
If another driver caused your Uber accident in Texas, their liability coverage should cover your medical care and other damages, as well as the damages of any riders in your vehicle. You will still need to report the accident to Uber. We can help you file your claim and negotiate a fair settlement on your behalf.
If you caused the accident, however, ensuring you are not financially responsible for your rider’s damages is a complex process. We can help you determine which policy was in effect based on what you were doing when the crash occurred.
If You Were Not on the App
If you were not logged on to the app at the time of the accident, your personal auto liability policy should cover the damages in a crash you caused. The Uber liability policy only goes into effect when you are logged in and working.
If You Were Logged in but Not Paired With a Rider
If you were logged in to the app but not yet paired with a rider, your personal auto liability policy should still be the primary payer after an accident you cause. However, Texas lawmakers understand many auto insurance companies try to deny claims in this scenario. For that reason, Uber must provide contingency coverage that goes into effect if your insurance will not pay for the victim’s injuries.
If You Were Paired With a Rider or Had a Rider in the Car
As soon as you agree to a trip with a specific rider, Uber’s liability coverage becomes the primary policy. If you caused an accident on your way to pick up a rider or when there was a rider in the car, Uber has a $1 million auto liability policy that will cover the injuries of your riders or victims in other vehicles. It is important to know, however, that you may still be liable in civil court if the injured parties decide to file a personal injury lawsuit.
While Uber does provide primary coverage from the time you pair with a ride until they end the ride, this policy only provides coverage for injured riders or the injured occupants of another vehicle. For this reason, it is very important for you to carry insurance to cover the repairs to your vehicle and other accident damages. If you do not, you might not be able to work for an extended period. Uber will not allow you back on the road until your vehicle repairs are completed following a crash.
How Can I Talk to a Texas Uber Accident Lawyer About My Crash?
The Uber car accident lawyers from D. Miller & Associates, PLLC, can help you sort out the complicated insurance claims process after a Texas rideshare crash. Call us today at 713-850-8600 for your free case review and consultation.
Related Frequently Asked Questions
- Whose Insurance Do You File a Dog Bite Injury Claim in Texas?
- What Should You Do If You Were Injured in A Hit and Run Accident in Texas?
- What is the Average Settlement for a Wrongful Death Claim in Texas?
- How Do Personal Injury Lawyers Get Their Attorneys’ Fees in Texas?
- How Do You Know If You Have a Good Personal Injury Case?